Euros 2013 Success

Euros 2013 Success

 The ITF Ireland Taekwon-Do Team returned home from the AETF European Championships in Skovde, Sweden last weekend with an impressive haul of 18 medals, 5 gold, 7 silver and 6 bronze. Ireland finished 5th overall out of 29 countries. Well done to the squad of 29 ITA competitors, coaches, umpires, managers and the travelling supporters on their success. A full report will follow, however for now please follow this link for a day-by-day report: Irish ITF Taekwon-Do Team Facebook page

The ITA Board would like to thank the coaches (Mr. Stephen Cooley VI Dan, Mr. Niall Jones VI Dan, Mr. Adrian Byrne V Dan, Mr. Stephen Ryan V Dan, Ms. Fiona Gallagher-Payet V Dan, Mr. Darren Smith IV Dan and Mr. Paul King I Dan) and managers (Mr. Jack Sheehan II Dan and Ms Laura Cullen IV Dan) for their hard work in preparing the squad. The board would also like to acknowledge the work of our umpires at the event; Master Patrick O’Rourke VII Dan and Mr. Pat Barry VI Dan. During the championships the ITA were also represented at the AETF Congress by Master Kenneth Wheatley ITA President and Mr. Adrian Byrne ITA Director as well as Dr. Richard Aboud I Dan. Dr. Aboud attended in the capacity of ITF Anti-Doping and Medical officer and gave a brief presentation to the delegates in attendance about the role of the newly appointed ITF anti-doping committee and the responsibilities of each national federation in relation to anti-doping. During the congress the hosts for the next European Championships were decided with Italy being the hosts for 2014 and Scotland the hosts for 2015.

The next event for national team members will be the Black Belt Open on June 2nd in Kilkenny after which the squad for the World Championships will be announced. The training schedule in preparation for the World Championships will be announced in the near future. 



Katy Laffan - Silver 1st Dan Patterns 
Agnieszka Aziewicz - Gold 2nd Dan Patterns
Luke Laffan - Silver 2nd Dan Patterns
Jamie Williams - Silver -57kg Sparring
Agnieszka Aziewicz - Bronze -56kg Sparring
Dylan Fitzgibbon - Gold -70kg Sparring
Ross Smith - Bronze -85kg Sparring
Louise McCagh - Silver Special Technique
Ireland Team Female Senior - Silver Special Technique
Chloe Aboud - Bronze 2nd Dan Patterns
Ellen Ince - Bronze -50kg Sparring
Tiarnan Moriarty - Gold -56kg Sparring
Chris Aboud - Silver -56kg Sparring
Chloe Aboud - Gold -60kg Sparring
Ireland Team Female Junior - Bronze Special Technique
Anne-Marie Torsney - Gold Power test
Ireland Junior Female Team - Bronze Power Test

Posted by Stephen Ryan