National team departs for Euros 2011

National team departs for Euros 2011

The national team had its final training session in preparation for the 2011 European Championships in Dublin on Saturday.  With 38 competitors, it is one of the largest squads ever to represent Ireland at a European or World Championships.  It is also one of the most experienced squads to travel with many of the squad, junior and senior alike, used to the demands of international competition.  This is also the first year where Ireland will be represented by junior and senior, male and female teams which demonstrates the growing size and quality of the squad.  The team will be accompanied by the coaching team of Mr Stephen Cooley, Mr Alan Troy, Mr Niall Jones and Mr Adrian Byrne along with assistant team manager, Mr Jack Sheehan.  Also representing Ireland as officials are Mr Pat Barry and Mr David Elson and not forgetting more than 20 parents making a total group of over 60!

To see the full ist of competitors and for more information click more


The full list of competitors is:

Junior female
Naomi Coonghe
Katy Laffan
Megan O'Leary
Sarah Barry
Nicola Torsney
Nicole Butler
Nicole Moriarty
Sarah Lehane
Chloe Aboud

Junior male
Dylan Connolly
David Kilcoyne
Sean Keogh Grincell
Jonathan Miloudi
Dylan Fitzgibbon
Adam Quinn
Adam Shelley
Ryan Shelley
Philip O'Gorman
Tiarnan Moriarty
Eddie Dillon
Karl Hynes
Jamie Williams

Senior female
Sabina Mason
Leanne  Egan
Sarah Moore
Emma Justice
Laura Cullen

Senior male
Darren Doherty
Michael O'Keefe
Hong Looi
Stephen Ryan
Alan McDonagh
Stephen Smullen
Philip McAuliffe
Jamie Rigney
Donal O'Donoghue
Darren Smith
Ross Smith

The squad departs on Wednesday morning for Slovakia and returns on
Monday lunchtime.  Good luck to everybody.

Posted by Stephen Ryan